Posted by: rowenawilcox | May 11, 2010

New government formed with Clegg as deputy PM

Leader of the Liberal Democrats, Nick Clegg, will be David Cameron’s deputy, the new PM has revealed.

Four Lib Dems will hold Cabinet positions, with seats for a further twenty in the new government, as part of the Con/Lib coalition.

This news comes just hours after Gordon Brown formally stepped down at 17:18 and David Cameron visited the Queen following her invitation to form a new government.

Liam Fox is the new Defence Secretary, William Hague has been appointed Foreign Secretary and George Osborne is now Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Meetings are ztill being held and as soon as more Cabinet positions are filled, we will add them to this post.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: